The magic of tea in a mug

You know how, when you have so many other things to do, blogging random stuff always becomes the first priority, somehow. Procrastination? Definitely, no question. Today is one of those days. So onto my first post it is!

Yes, that is indeed a Tardis coaster under my mug of tea.

As mentioned in the about me section, one of my biggest smallest joy in life is drinking tea from one of my favourite tea mugs. I recently moved to Finland for an exchange of 5 months. The move meant that I had to leave my flat in the Netherlands, for good, and thus, store everything in boxes with my family. 5 months is nothing, you might say. But because I am also starting an intern-ship in London right after my exchange, I’ll be gone for a whole year. You might be wondering why I’m telling you this by now, don’t worry there’s a point to all this! Packing up my stuff wasn’t difficult for most of it. However, one thing I had never really realised before was this: packing up everything for a year also meant I wouldn’t be drinking tea from my favourite mugs for a whole year. And against all expectations, packing those mugs was a lot harder than packing up my favourite books!(which says a lot)

I don’t know how and when this happened. Maybe it was the influence of one of my besties from Belgium. But I had been enjoying tea for years. It’s just recently that I noticed, tea mugs are kind of magic; in the way that no matter how bad you feel, drinking tea from that one certain mug comforts you and make the world seem right again, if even for a few minutes. I know that part of this magic comes from the fact that most mugs I own were given to me as a present, or bought on a trip abroad, but one cannot deny the pleasures of hot tea with honey in a mug that fits comfortably between your hands!ย The mug shown in the picture above is one I recently bought here. My apartment didn’t have any cups or mugs, and the past weeks I’ve been looking around and this one was perfect(not too expensive, perfect hold and the right size) so now I can finally fully enjoy my tea here too!(The Tardis coasters recently arrived from my bestie in Belgium โค Making my tea even more pleasant!)

So what do you think? Do you have this one(or several) mug(s) that always manages to comfort you? Do you buy them yourself, or usually get them as present? Or did you never really think about tea mugs like this? Share your thoughts!:)

7 thoughts on “The magic of tea in a mug

  1. I came to read this blogpost as my bff linked it to her twitter and my mind just blew when I saw that Tardis coaster! Want!
    I drink a lot of tea, but for me it’s not that important what kind of a mug it is.. Anykind is okay, but my favourite is one mug with the chinese character meaning water on it and on the other side is a small description about the element :3 That’s my dearest mug so far~

    • Another Whovian yay! ๐Ÿ™‚ They are awesome aren’t they?! I was so happily surprised when I got a package, that I didn’t expect, and then found these in it!

      Ofcourse, for tea any mug would do. But I always have this preference, using the same ones first and only using the rest when my dirty dishes have been piling up and I don’t have another choice :p

  2. TARDIS coaster<3 Oh my god I'd kill for one! ๐Ÿ˜€
    And I really do share your thoughts on tea mugs! ๐Ÿ™‚ I have these HUGE mugs that I HAVE to wash nightly so that I can drink my morning tea from one of those! So far I've personally bought most of my mugs but I got 2 as a birthday present from my childhood friend this year as she knows how hard it is to find matching (and 0,4-0,5 liter) mugs from flea markets. I love all of the mugs I own but the bigger the better as then I don't have to refill it too often ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • Nooo seriously?! Now I’m so happy I asked you to be my blogging buddy! ๐Ÿ™‚ It’s so funny, in the Netherlands there is no one at my uni who knows about DW. And here I’ve already met several people who know about it/ watch it! (conclusion: Finland is pretty much awesome)

      haha yesss! The bigger the better! My dad has these huge mugs (pretty much soup bowls with an ear) where he drinks tea from(I got some from him:)Those are great for lazy days! I do prefer longer ones though, instead of the bowl sized, because that means you have to drink carefully ๐Ÿ˜›

      • I’ve converted at least 4 or 5 people into Whovians and the series 1-6(or 7) even played in our tvs during the summers of 2012 and 2013 so pretty much everyone who watched TV around 6pm in the summer knows DW ๐Ÿ˜‰ And the conventions are filled with DW cosplayers, even I tried it once!

        Sounds like the perfect mug<3 I think those will be the next things I start hunting whenever I go to flea markets!! I really need something like that for lazy days!

  3. I got all my favourite mugs from friends and I could never ever part with them ๐Ÿ™‚ Some of them are fandom, one of them is from my brother and says ‘World’s Greatest Sister’. And even though I use them for coffee we share the same sentiments about our mugs :))

  4. I love your idea for the subject of your blog ! I am an exchange student too (really good experience, I hope for you too). When I arrived in my collocation, there are a lot of mugs but I drink my tea only in the same mug. So you are right for some people it’s really important to drink in the same mug and when they leave their home they need to find the perfect mug. At home it’s the same for my parents they have their own mugs for coffee and they don’t share ! That’s crazy

Leave a Reply

